Fruits
80 hectares devoted to the cultivation of fruits
Nearly 80 hectares are devoted to growing fruit in Geneva. Over 20 varieties of apple such as Gala and Golden but also new club varieties like Jazz and Tentation are grown on about 75% of that land.
 
Fruits

The second most-grown fruit in Geneva is the pear and includes the Marlioz, an old variety that is part of Geneva’s culinary heritage. The Marlioz is often referred to as the poire à rissole because it is used in a filling for turnovers called rissoles.

Harvesting apples and pears begins in early September and goes on until the end of October. While this is the ideal time of year to buy fresh fruit, some varieties – stored in cold rooms – are available year round. Apple juice is also available year round.

Other fruit is also cultivated in the canton, 15 ha worth of strawberries, raspberries and blackberries. Mara des Bois are the most prevalent variety of strawberry, particularly appreciated for their taste resembling that of wild strawberries.

 

 

All fruits

Fruits

Fruits GRTA

Fruits

Obst
80 Hektar auf den Anbau von Obst gewidmet
Auf rund 80 Hektaren wird im Kanton Genf Obst angebaut. Der grösste Teil dieser Fläche (rund 75%) dient dem Anbau von rund zwanzig Apfelsorten, wie Gala oder Golden, aber auch neuer Club-Sorten wie Jazz oder Tentation.
 
Fruits

An zweiter Stelle bei den Genfer Obstkulturen liegen die Birnen. Die auch als «Rissole-Birne» bekannte alte Sorte «Marlioz» gehört zum kulinarischen Erbe Genfs.

Die Obsternte beginnt anfangs September und dauert bis in den Oktober an, wenn die letzten Früchte ihre volle Reife erreicht haben. Diese Zeitspanne ist ideal, um frische Früchte zu kaufen, einige Sorten sind jedoch das ganze Jahr über erhältlich. Und Apfelsaft ist ohne Unterbruch verfügbar./p>

Auch andere Früchte werden im Kanton Genf angebaut. Auf einer Fläche von insgesamt 15 Hektaren werden kleinere Früchte wie Erdbeeren, Himbeeren, oder Brombeeren kultiviert. Die in Genf am meisten angebaute Erdbeersorte ist La Mara des Bois. Sie wird vor allem für ihr wunderbares Waldbeerenaroma geschätzt.

 

 

Alle Obst

Obst

Obst GRTA

Obst